Biller and Coder Liability When Claims Are Challenged

Searcher's Brainy!

Other

Main Webinars Other Biller and Coder Liability When Claims Are Challenged
Get free and useful emails from Brainy

Biller and Coder Liability When Claims Are Challenged

Why should you attend:
To Understand -

Under what circumstances should a biller be responsible for claim errors?

Legal standards that apply when judging coder liability.

Are providers always responsible for CPT or HCPCS decisions?

Vendor contract provisions that may dictate who?s responsible

Whose insurance will cover an error or fraudulent billing?

Best practices for reducing possible liability before claims are audited.
Description of the topic:

With increasing chances that a medical practice or health care facility will be audited, it may be inevitable that the billing and coding of claims will come under scrutiny. In situations where payment is recouped or fraudulent coding or billing practices are alleged, providers and payers may allege that billers or coders are in part or in whole responsible.

It is often difficult to determine whether providers, billers or both should be held liable in a particular case. Factors to consider include applicable law and standards, contract terms and the facts in the particular case. Likewise, if a biller or coder is fully performing their duties in accordance with accepted standards, there may be less evidence of responsibility. Biller and coder malpractice insurance policies will also dictate the extent of coverage and coverage limits and exclusions. Providers may be surprised to learn, however, that such coverage may not fully reimburse lost payments.

Webinar´s time (GMT -4:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada), Puerto Rico, La Paz

Your local time

Be careful! Your local time may not exactly match the one shown above due to summer time. This could happen during March and October.

James Jack

We provide training to the healthcare folks based in US in the form of Webinars. We have experts from different fields like Medical Coding/ Billing, Compliance, HIPAA, Long Term Care, Hospice, Skilled Nursing Facilities, Ambulatory Surgical Centers etc. Our webinars are 60 minutes/ 90 minutes and the timing is 1 pm ET | 12 pm CT | 11 am MT | 10 am PT.
Facebook
Twitter
Google +
Pinterest
Tumblr
Blog
Back to top